Keeping Organized in 2018

20180112_152441

Before 2017, I was never the type to keep a planner. In fact, I wasn’t the most organized person. (I’m still not.) I always went with the flow, and trusted that things would figure themselves out in time. For the most part, I still do. But documenting events, conversations, and keeping track of things needing to be done (or paid) is a newer custom of mine.

Last year, I used a pocket planner (more specifically, a Traveler’s Company passport planner insert) and it helped a lot. However, one thing that I learned quickly is that I needed more space, especially for longer entries. So, for 2018, I took the dive and bought myself a Hobonichi Techo, in A6. It’s a popular planner in the stationary/planner community, because of the month-at-a-glance pages and individual day pages. Also, the paper is Tomoe River and can handle heavy inks. (Any fountain pen friendly paper is a friend of mine.)

So far, it’s working for me. I’ve gotten into the habit of logging my days, accomplishments and things to do, and so on. This way, I hope to keep myself on track so 2018 doesn’t come up and slap me in the face. This way, I won’t forget special days, events, and will hopefully have something to help me remember the things I’ve done years from now. 

What do you guys do to keep yourself on track?

*The photo above is of two of the more decorated pages in my planner. For the most part, I just log my day. Down below are photos taken from the Hobonichi Techo website, so you know what I mean by month-at-a-glance and individual day pages.

Hobonichi

hobonichi2

***

If you like what you’ve read, please follow Woods & Roads. You can also find Mary on Instagram (@woods.and.roads). Or if you’d like to reach out, please click here.